Bryson Energy Board

  • Peter McNaney (Chair)

    Since qualifying as a Solicitor, Peter has been practising law for 20 years gaining wide experience in litigation, public law, employment and commercial developments.  Peter held the position of Chief Executive of Belfast City Council for 14 years and led a successful modernisation programme rebuilding the Council’s finances, delivery capacity and citizen focus.  

    Peter stood down from this role in 2014 and took over as Chair of the Belfast Health and Social Care Trust the same year. In addition to his work with Bryson, Peter serves on the Board of Invest NI.  

    Peter was awarded a CBE in 2014.

  • David Crothers

    David Crothers

    Since retiring in 2007, David Crothers has joined a number of boards including Fold Housing Association, National Energy Action and of course, Bryson Energy. Passionate about fuel poverty, David is also a member and Chair of the Energy Justice Campaign. 

    David retired as Director of Housing with the Department for Social Development in Northern Ireland where his role spanned the voluntary housing movement, private rented sector, the Northern Ireland Housing Executive and domestic energy efficiency. 

    As part of his remit for promoting domestic energy efficiency, he initiated a number of pilot schemes to tackle fuel poverty, introduced the Government sponsored Warm Homes Scheme to Northern Ireland, established a Fuel Poverty Advisory Committee and an inter-departmental working party on fuel poverty and produced a Fuel Poverty Strategy for Northern Ireland.

  • Tom Woolley

    Tom Woolley

    Tom Woolley B.Arch, PhD is an architect and environmental researcher. Tom was Professor of Architecture at Queens University Belfast from 1991 to 2007 but now works as a freelance educator and environmental consultant for Rachel Bevan Architects. He has been Visiting Professor of Architecture at the Centre for Alternative Technology Graduate School of the Environment in Wales and at University of Central Lancashire, and also Professor of Sustainable Rural Architecture at the Countryside and Communities Research Institute, University of Gloucestershire. 

    Tom has been chairman of the Northern Ireland Building Regulation Advisory Committee and a member of the NI Ministerial Advisory Group for Architecture. Tom is on the board of the Chartered Institute of Housing NI.

    His principle research work has been on sustainable and renewable bio-based construction materials including strawbale and hemp lime construction. Research projects have been funded under EU programmes, the Technology Strategy Board, Energy Saving Trust, the Irish EPA and Carbon Trust. He is currently working on a project funded under the Creative Industries Innovation Fund. 

  • Lawrence Foye

    Lawrence Foye

    Lawrence Foye has worked in the areas of energy efficiency and renewable energy for some 15 years, firstly with the Department of Economic Development and later with the Department of Enterprise, Trade and Investment. Lawrence held a number of positions including the EU INTERREG Energy Measure Leader and the NI representative on the UK Energy Crops Committee.  

    On taking early retirement, he became a director of an energy consultancy company and part owner of a biomass business. Lawrence is also director of a local enterprise agency, CIDO, and chairman of a community group.

  • Douglas McIldoon

    Douglas was a civil servant for thirty years in the Department of the Environment, where he was involved with planning and urban regeneration and the Department of Economic Development and served as head of Energy Division.   

    He was appointed Director General of Electricity Supply in 1995, where his responsibilities included the regulation of new gas industry following its introduction in Northern Ireland in 1996. 

    Douglas retired as Chief Executive of the Northern Ireland Authority for Energy Regulation in 2005. During his period of office CO2 emissions per unit of electricity generated in NI fell by about 40%.  

    Following his retirement in 2005, Douglas undertook the role of Chairman of the Northern Ireland Energy Agency, now known as Bryson Energy. 

  • Teresa Lennon

    Information to be added

  • Joan Houston

    Information to be added